Easy Access


The Township of South Orange Village's governing body is comprised of an elected Board of Trustees consisting of six elected Trustees and an elected Village President, all seven of whom serve four-year terms without any remuneration. Three Trustees are elected biennially.


Sheena Collum


Walter Clarke
Jeffrey DuBowy
Steve Schnall
Click on a picture for a short Bio

The Board of Trustees typically meets twice monthly:

  • Special Meeting & Conference Agenda Meeting:  Second Monday at 7:30 pm at South Orange Performing Arts Center
  • Regular Meeting:  Fourth Monday at 7:30 pm at South Orange Performing Arts Center

When holidays conflict with Monday meeting dates, these meeting generally are rescheduled for the following Wednesday.  Additional Special Meetings are scheduled, such as for Budget Workshops and Town Hall Meetings, and their dates are posted on the Village Calendar -- both online, in Village Hall, and in the Library

Trustee Standing Committees
The Board of Trustees' work is supported by Village staff and six standing Trustee committees:

  • Finance & Information Technology Committee
    • Trustees Howard Levison (Chair), Mark Rosner, Stephen Schnall
  • Legal & Personnel Committee
    • Trustees Deborah Davis Ford (Chair), Sheena Collum, Howard Levison
  • Planning & Zoning Committee
    • Trustees Mark Rosner (Chair), Walter Clarke, Sheena Collum
  • Public Safety Committee
    • Trustees Sheena Collum (Chair), Walter Clarke, Mark Rosner
  • Public Works & Infrastructure Committee
    • Trustees Walter Clarke (Chair), Deborah Davis Ford, Howard Levison
  • Recreation & Cultural Affairs Committee
    • Trustees Stephen Schnall (Chair), Walter Clarke, Deborah Davis Ford

Village Administration

Barry R. Lewis, Jr. - Village Administrator
Adam Loehner - Village Deputy Administrator
Chris Battaglia - Chief Financial Officer
Susan Caljean - Village Clerk
Steven Rother- Village Counsel
James M. Chelel - Police Chief
Daniel Sullivan - Fire Chief
Ronke Zaccheus- Tax Collector
Ellen Foye Malgieri - Tax Assessor & Purchasing Agent
Tom Michetti - Public Works Director
Salvatore Renda - Engineer
Anthony Grenci - Building & Code Enforcement Director
Kate Schmidt - Recreation & Cultural Affairs Director
Melissa Kopecky - Library Director

State and Local Legislators