Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment consists of seven members and two alternates, each of whom is appointed by the Board of Trustees for a term of: four years for regular members and two years for alternate members. The Board conducts regularly scheduled hearings after public notice and depending upon the classification of relief sought, may approve or deny on application for a variance. The decision of the Board is usually final. However, any party aggrieved by the Board's action may file an appeal in civil court.

Other powers of the Board include hearing and deciding on appeal applications of decisions made by an administrative officer, such as the Zoning Officer; and to interpret the zoning map or zoning ordinance.

An applicant must meet specific criteria contained in the MLUL by satisfying certain legal standards of proof and the burden is upon the applicant to show that he or she is entitled to the specific relief requested. Depending upon the type of variance requested, the applicant will need to prove special reasons, a balancing of the benefits, hardship or the negative criteria. Conditions may also be applied to an approval.

Board Members:

  • Paul Breene, Chair
  • Jacob Levine, Vice Chair
  • Devyani Guha
  • William MacIntosh
  • Anthony Mason
  • Clifford Pomerantz
  • Mia Charlene White


  • Alison Oxman
  • Vacant

Board Professionals:

  • Patrick Dwyer, Board Attorney
  • Greer Patras, Board Planner/Zoning Officer
  • Bowman Consultant Group, Board Engineer
  • David Battaglia, Village Engineer
  • Ojetti Davis, Board Secretary


Generally held on the 1st Tuesday of the month at the South Orange Performing Arts Center in the Main Stage Room at 7:00 P.M. All meetings are open to the public in accordance with the requirements of the “Open Public Meetings Act” (Sunshine Law). 

Agendas button
Minutes button
Resolutions button
Pending Applications Button